February 2

Last night and very early this morning, Ann Arbor received the tail end of a snow storm that hit Chicago hard. After carrying around my snowshoes for a few days (and storing them in the closet for years), I finally had the chance to snowshoe the city sidewalks. What luck–a 9am radio show, slow snow plows, powdery goodness all over the streets leading to campus. I strapped my boots into the snowshoes and set off with poles in hand. I was happy to see the cross-country-ski tracks left behind by someone even earlier. A news van stopped me for an interview: “What are you doing?” “What do you think of all this snow?” “Are you surprised that U of M didn’t cancel today’s classes?” “What do you think about the situation in Egypt?” (that last one was a lie; they didn’t ask me that). I arrived at the radio station, started off the set with appropriate tuneage, and the rest (including a children’s story read by Neil Gaiman) can be heard here–

(2 hours)
Right-click or Command+click to download

Leave a Reply

