February 16

This show begins with a couple songs about men and women.
Somehow I got into a Latin groove, which fades in and out throughout the show. I think the song by Gaby Kerpel is a highlight along those lines. There’s a creepy “two-way Larry” featuring the Texas Tornadoes, which was requested by Ms. Sarah Barbrow. What happens with a Cuban percussive group covers Mozart? You can find out by listening.
It might not surprise you to learn that today’s program contains a couple showtunes.
Duels? We’ve got those, too. Dueling spoons and dueling tubas. Who wins??? Laughing giraffes. That’s who.

Who doesn’t win? Charles Manson.
I got a complaint today, for playing a song by Charles Manson at the end of the show. The man who called in was composed and polite, but obviously upset. He thought it was inappropriate to play something by a maniac with so much blood on his hands. I appreciated the complaint, and it’s helpful for listeners to provide feedback about WCBN’s programming.

I don’t agree, though. Of course, my intent was not to make anyone upset. I emphasized to the caller and emphasize to you, reader, that neither WCBN nor I advocate the philosophy and actions of Charles Manson. I admit that I was flippant about Manson on the air, but I was interested in hearing Manson’s album–I recently learned that Henry Rollins was in contact with Manson while Manson was in jail, and Manson was sending Rollins material that he wanted to release as an album. Rollins was all for pressing Manson’s album until his female bass player started getting anonymous death threats from anti-Mansonites. Manson was not pleased when Rollins was forced to back out of their plans. Incidentally, the notes on the album we have at the station made a tenuous link between Manson approaching publicists and death threats to the publicists who refused to record Manson’s albums. I just think that’s interesting. It’s history. Is the context of a radio show so different from showing other pieces of Manson’s history in a documentary or publishing Hitler’s Mein Kampf?

Having said all that, I did think it was humorous that Manson was singing about a garbage dump. I was amused by Charles Manson transitioning into the gospel music that DJ Matt Endahl features at the start of Doomsday Radio, the show that follows Break Your Radio. I also think it’s interesting that you’d never know it was Manson singing about a garbage dump unless you were told. And that you wouldn’t be able to predict that Manson was a crazy, murderous maniac by listening to the album (he’s got another track called “Don’t do anything illegal”).

I’m curious about what you think, so leave a comment if you have a minute.

(2 hours)
Right-click or Command+click to download

Leave a Reply

