December 7

I don’t intend for the following statement to be a deterrent to listening to this show, but: the first half of this latest installment consists of a failed experiment.

For a while now, I’ve been trying to accumulate the acumen and screw up the courage to fill an entire hour’s worth of air time solely with sound effects. I put together enough of em for today to occupy about 30 minutes. I built something like a narrative, which culminates in a rather creepy ambiance. And then, simply due to momentum, I keep the creep for a little while after the sound effects have done their business. My mood might have something to do with staying up all night and heading in to the station, buzzed and nearly hallucinogenic.

In any case, I think a new tactic is in order when it comes to utilizing sound. I really like an element of surprise, which often happens when someone follows a musical track with a straight-up sound. I’d like to apply that effect to a whole show’s worth of soundy sounds. This project is a work in progress.

Curious? Here ya go.

(1 hour)
Right-click or Command+click to download

One response to “December 7

Leave a Reply

